As I’ve already told you a lot about my time in Barcelona I thought I’d just give you a quick look at the  places I visited and the things I saw:

I did a walking tour that took us to most of the Gaudi buildings in Barcelona. For those who don’t know, Gaudi is one of the most well-known architects in the world and is celebrated for his unique designs, taking many of his inspiration from nature. I thought most of his buildings were absolutely insane but definitely appreciated the individuality of all of them.

Sagrada Familia, the most famous of Gaudi’s buildings. Construction of The Church of the Holy Family commenced in 1882 and when Gaudi died it was only a quarter finished. It is still not complete and probably won’t be for quite a few years. It was one of the most spectacular (and craziest) buildings I’ve ever seen!

Upon completion there will be 18 spires on the church and three facades that all differ in design.

 

Casa Batllo

Casa Batllo, designed by Antoni Gaudi – it was right around the corner from the hostel close to the middle of town. You can take a look inside but the line was huuuuge when I was there and pretty pricey so I gave it a miss but might go next time. 

Casa Mila, another of Gaudi’s crazy designs, was built for a rich couple. Not sure what they put in a house this size…

Casa Mila with it’s weird ice cream cones on top

I also spent quite a lot of time by the water in Barcelona. It was just gorgeous…

The harbour in Barcelona. This would have to be one of my favourite photos I’ve ever taken on my travels

Sunset over the beautiful gothic buildings near the harbour

The beach. Even in late December it was about 22 degrees the day I was there. I was almost tempted to go in for a swim

Don’t usually go to the beach in jeans…

Placa Reial (Royal Plaza) is in the centre of town just off the main street Las Rambas and is surrounded by some amazing restaurants and nightclubs. This is where my Gaudi tour started

La Boqueria Market is just off Las Ramblas and sells the freshest of Barcelona food to the surrounding restaurants and hotels. The food looked amazing!!!!

Lollies!!!!

While  I was on my walking tour I met a lovely girl who invited me to the opera that night. The Liceu Opera House was absolutely stunning.

I spent most of my time there looking at the roof because it was much more interesting than the opera. The rest of the time I was asleep (I’m not lying! It went for 3.5 hours and was in Catalan, can you blame me?)

Anyway, a quick wrap-up for you of my time in Barcelona. As I said, I’m definitely going to go back, I didn’t get a chance to see everything I would’ve liked and didn’t get to check out the nightlife, something I really should do of course! Anyone got suggestions for where I need to go, eat, drink, stay etc…?

